News

Webinar: 10 years after the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster

Aug 18, 2020

Next year marks 10 years since the Great East Japan Earthquake on March 11, 2011 and the subsequent nuclear accident at TEPCO's Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant. The accident robbed people of their lives, livelihood, communities, and precious time with their families, all in harmony with the blessings of nature. The accident still affects a lot of people. On the other hand, under the slogan of "reconstruction" the current situation of the ongoing accident and the problems of nuclear power plants are made "invisible", creating an atmosphere in which people cannot talk about health issues and anxiety. In this online seminar, Ms. Muto Ryuko, who lives in Miharu Town, Fukushima and a mother, who returned to live Fukushima City, will talk about their lives in Fukushima and the situation of the accident.

This symposium will be conducted in Japanese and English.

Details:

When
12 September 2020 19:00~21:00 JST / 8PM-10PM Sydney / 6PM-8PM Beijing / 3:30PM-5:30PM Delhi / Noon-2PM Amsterdam / 11AM-1PM London

Program
*Speakers will speak in Japanese with simultaneous English interpretation
・Fukushima nuclear disasters and the challenges / Kanna Mitsuta, FoE Japan
・Voices from Fukushima / Ms. Ruiko Muto
・Screening of the interview
・To live in Fukushima …/ A mother living in Fukushima
・Q&A

 

Webinar Archive

View the full webinar with English interpretation here!